

International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families

Distr.: General 4 January 2008

Original: English

Meeting of the States Parties

Summary record of the 3rd meeting

Held at Headquarters, New York, on Thursday, 6 December 2007, at 10 a.m.

Temporary Chairman: Mr. Mbaidjol	(Representative of the Secretary-General)
Chairman: Mr. Prica	(Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Contents

Opening of the meeting by the representative of the Secretary-General

Election of the Chairperson

Adoption of the agenda

Election of other officers of the meeting

Election of five members of the Committee on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families to replace those whose terms of office will expire on 31 December 2007 in accordance with article 72, paragraphs 1 to 5, of the Convention

This record is subject to correction. Corrections should be sent under the signature of a member of the delegation concerned *within one week of the date of publication* to the Chief of the Official Records Editing Section, room DC2-750, 2 United Nations Plaza, and incorporated in a copy of the record.

Corrections will be issued after the end of the session, in a separate corrigendum for each Committee.

07-62890 (E)

The meeting was called to order at 10.20 a.m.

Opening of the meeting by the representative of the Secretary-General

1. **Mr. Mbaidjol** (Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights), speaking as the representative of the Secretary-General, said that, since the second meeting in 2005, the number of States parties to the Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families had increased from 34 to 37 and now included Albania, Argentina and Mauritania. Of the States parties, Lesotho, Nicaragua and Peru were also new as the Convention had not entered into force for them at the 2005 meeting.

2. The Convention could only be an effective instrument for the protection of the rights of all migrant workers and members of their families when its membership was representative of all regions and included both countries of origin and of destination. The Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) would continue to work towards that goal through its drive for universal ratification, its coordination of the International Steering Committee of the Global Campaign for Ratification of the Convention, through inter-agency forums such as the Global Migration Group and through the work of its secretariat. He noted with satisfaction that many of the States parties present were also active in promoting the Convention.

3. The Committee on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families had now held seven sessions. It had received the initial reports of nine States parties and had examined those of Egypt, Ecuador, Mali and Mexico. Those of Azerbaijan, Bolivia, and Herzegovina, Bosnia El Salvador and the Syrian Arab Republic would be considered by the Committee in 2008. The initial reports of 25 other States parties were now overdue and should be presented without delay in order to enhance the Committee's monitoring function.

4. Guatemala had become the first State party to make declarations under articles 76 and 77 of the Convention, thus recognizing the competence of the Committee to consider communications from other States parties (article 76) and from individuals (article 77) about violations of the Convention. Other States parties should follow that example. 5. In addition to its core function of examining reports, the Committee had also contributed to the General Assembly's High-level Dialogue on International Migration and Development, held in September 2006 in New York, through a written statement on the links between human rights, migration and development.

Election of the Chairperson

6. **Mr. Al Ja'afari** (Syrian Arab Republic) nominated Mr. Prica (Bosnia and Herzegovina) as Chairperson of the meeting.

7. Mr. Prica (Bosnia and Herzegovina) was elected by acclamation Chairperson of the meeting of States parties to the International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families.

8. Mr. Prica took the Chair.

Adoption of the agenda (CMW/SP/6)

9. *The agenda was adopted.*

10. The Chairperson drew attention to rules 2 and 3 of the rules of procedure (CMW/SP/3). Rule 2 provided that the credentials of representatives and the names of members of delegations should be submitted to the Secretary-General not less than one week before the date of the opening of the meeting. As he had yet to receive proper credentials from some of the States parties represented at the meeting, he suggested that, in accordance with rule 3, the representatives of those States parties should be entitled provisionally to participate in the meeting and urged them to submit their credentials as soon as possible.

11. It was so decided.

Election of other officers of the meeting

12. Mr. Maema (Lesotho), Mr. Çorman (Turkey) and Ms. Melon (Argentina) were elected Vice-Chairpersons.

Election of five members of the Committee on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families to replace those whose terms of office will expire on 31 December 2007 in accordance with article 72, paragraphs 1 to 5, of the Convention (CMW/SP/7 and Add.1) 13. **The Chairperson** invited the meeting to elect five members of the Committee. The biographical data on the six candidates nominated by the States parties were contained in document CMW/SP/7. The data on an additional candidate, whose nomination had been received after the deadline, were contained in document CMW/SP/7/Add.1. He took it that the States parties wished to accept the additional nominee.

14. It was so decided.

15. At the invitation of the Chairperson, Mr. Torres (Colombia) and Ms. Abdelhak (Algeria) acted as tellers.

16. A vote was taken by secret ballot.

Number of ballot papers:	36
Number of valid ballots:	36
Number of members voting:	36
Required majority:	19
Number of votes obtained:	
Mr. El Borai (Egypt)	31
Mr. El Jamri (Morocco)	29
Ms. Cubias Medina (El Salvador)	26
Mr. Alba (Mexico)	25
Ms. Poussi Konsimbo (Burkina Faso)	25
Mr. Carrion Mena (Ecuador)	24
Mr. Barjaba (Albania)	13

17. Having obtained the required majority and the largest number of votes, Mr. El Borai (Egypt), Mr. El Jamri (Morocco), Ms. Cubias Medina (El Salvador), Mr. Alba (Mexico) and Ms. Poussi Konsimbo (Burkina Faso) were elected members of the Committee for a four-year term beginning 1 January 2008.

Closure of the meeting

18. **The Chairperson** declared closed the third meeting of the States parties to the Convention.

The meeting rose at 11.30 a.m.